Monday, July 13, 2015

CBB Promotions Blog Tour, Guest Post, & Giveaway: Traveler (Dennis W. Green)


Welcome to my tour stop for Traveler by Dennis W. Green! Traveler is an adult science fiction novel. The tour runs July 6 – July 17 with reviews, interviews, guest posts and excerpts. Check out the tour page for the full schedule.

Blending mystery, police procedural and sci-fi, Traveler is a thriller in the tradition of Daniel Suarez and Dean Koontz, with just a dash of Jim Butcher.
Police detective Trav Becker can travel between parallel realities. So can other versions of him. And one is systematically killing every Trav he can find.
Trav must fight to keep the very fabric of time itself from unwinding as he hunts the most dangerous quarry of all… himself.
He must hunt the most dangerous quarry of all… himself.




----------------

Specialization is for insects.
Ask someone how they know Dennis Green and you might get any one of the following: Writer, DJ, actor, MC, swimmer, teacher, reporter, tech geek, husband, or dad. So it’s little wonder his favorite expression is the above quote by Robert Heinlein’s spacefaring immortal, Lazarus Long.A popular radio personality in his native Iowa, Dennis’s adventures as a DJ were covered by newspapers from Anchorage to Los Angeles. He has also worked on the stage, TV, and independent film. He is one of the Midwest’s most popular MC’s, hosting dozens of events each year.
Dennis’s first novel, the sci-fi detective thriller, Traveler, ranked in the Top Ten in the 2014 Ben Franklin Independent Publishing awards, and has a 4.9 review average on Amazon.. Prisoner is the second volume of the Traveler Chronicles, and will be out in the summer of 2015. Trav Becker’s saga concludes in the final volume of the trilogy, Hunter, which is due in 2016.
Dennis’s writing has appeared in the anthology Sadistic Shorts, magazines including Grift and Romance and Beyond, as well as his own blog at denniswgreen.com. He also writes for and edits the triathlon news site heartofamericatri.com.
By day, he is the general manager of Iowa’s only jazz radio station, KCCK-FM. And if it’s 5:30 am, you can probably find him in the pool, working out with the Milky Way Masters swim club.




My Life In A Parallel Universe
—Dennis Green

Twenty years ago, when I was a young DJ, I was doing my radio show and I couldn’t find a CD. I was certain I had gotten it from the rack on the wall, but it’s not in the stack where I thought I put it. I look everywhere. Go through all the CDs, check back at wall rack, everyplace. And I finally find it in a pile I looked through at least three times.

I thought to myself, “What if, in looking for this CD, I moved between two nearly identical parallel universes, but realities where I had put the CD in different places?”

That was the genesis of Traveler, that those little memory lapses and discontinuities where things don’t seem to be where we put them, or our memories of things differ from others’ recollections, are actually a result of us moving every day between the permeable walls of adjacent parallel realities.

Another aspect of science I always found interesting the “the observer effect,” which says that measurements of certain systems can’t be made without having an effect on those systems. The observer effect is often confused with Heisenberg’s Uncertainty Principle, but for the purposes of the book, are similar.

All this made me think “Well, it’s a short jump from the observer having an effect on the measurement to the observer actively directing the measurement to achieve the effect he or she wants it to have.

The parallel worlds trope is a common one in Sci-Fi and Fantasy, but as I fleshed this idea out, it seemed like I had found a new spin. 

In the Traveler universe, some people can sense nearby, parallel streams of reality which represent possible outcomes of a given situation or course of action. History has a word for people who seem to see things beyond our plane of reality. Prophet, witch, or more likely, nutcase. Even though Traveler is a sci-fi thriller set in the present, I also wanted to tell a few of these tales, and did in the form of several Interludes. These vignettes not only illustrate the larger world that encompasses Traveler, but also gave me the chance to write in some different styles without leaving my main story.

Trav Becker sees these other streams as red or blue-outlined versions of himself and the people near him. He looks at the different actions these figures are taking, and chooses the one with the outcome he desires. Once Trav discovers he has the ability to control this motion among parallel “streams,” he finds himself on the trail of another version of himself who is also moving from stream to stream. But this version is killing every other Trav Becker he encounters. 

I thought a story where the protagonist has to hunt himself would be unique and fun. The concept also plays with identity, and the idea that just a few different choices might not only result in different outcomes for us, but might actually change many aspect of our personalities.

What aspects of your personality do you think might have changed if your life had been different?


-------------------------------------

$50 Amazon Gift Card (INT)
Ends 7/21
prizing is provided by the author, bloggers are not responsible

This event was organized by CBB Book Promotions.


10 comments:

  1. congrats to Dennis on his new release! Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  2. What a wonderful post. Thanks for this giveaway. This individual is talented, creative and inspiring. I enjoyed learning about this author and DJ. As for my personality it is what I was born with and I doubt that it would ever change. Perhaps a little more daring and outgoing. saubleb(at)gmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  3. The book sounds interesting, good luck.

    ReplyDelete
  4. An interesting Guest Post thank you.

    ReplyDelete
  5. This is SUCH a great book! Thank you so much for hosting a tour stop!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Thanks for the giveaway. The book sounds good. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  7. Beth, thanks so very much for hosting a stop on the blog tour. You have a great site, and I'm honored to be featured on it.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Hi good post. if you visit Indonesia espesially SUrabaya please contact us for sewa mobil surabaya

    ReplyDelete